This is the "Home" page of the "Databases-Complete List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases-Complete List   Tags: databases, generalities, high, school  

One stop shopping for all of our subscription-based digital resources.
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://libresources.lrei.org/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica  Icon
    Digital, multimedia version of the renowned encyclopedia.
  • Scholastic Go!  
      
      Icon
    (Formerly listed as Grolier Passport.) Contains Encyclopedia Americana, The Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, and more.
  • World Book Advanced  Icon
    World Book Encyclopedia, plus research tools, primary source documents, and a large collection of ebooks (mostly classic literature, social theory, and philosophy).

History and Current Events

The following are history-specific databases; almost all of the databases in the General section are also great for history and current events information.

  • The African-American Experience  Icon
    African-American history. Database available through the New York Public Library. You must have a library card to access this database.
  • American History  Icon
    A Facts on File database, containing the contents of hundreds of full and partial reference books.
  • American Women's History  
      
      Icon
    A Facts on File database available through the New York Public Library. You must have a library card to access this database.
  • Life in America  Icon
    Divided by time period and organized by major aspects of life (daily life, city life, education, health, religion, etc.), with glossaries, timeline, images, video, and primary source excerpts.
  • Pew Hispanic Center
    From Pew, the wonderful nonpartisan research center, a collection intended to "chronicle Latinos' diverse experiences in a changing America."
  • PopCulture Universe  Icon
    US history through a cultural lens, including fashion, leisure activities, television, sports, etc. Lots of images.
  • US History in Context  Icon
    Now available without a public library card! Reference, full text secondary sources, primary sources, and more.
  • Ancient and Medieval History  Icon
    A Facts on File database, containing hundreds of full and partial reference books up to ~1450.
  • Modern World History  
      
      Icon
    A Facts on File database, containing hundreds of full and partial reference books covering 1450 to today.
  • World Geography and Culture Online  Icon
    A Facts on File database. Maps and cultural information, statistics, images, and more.
  • World History in Context  Icon
    Dates back approximately 5,000 years and contains primary and secondary sources and multimedia and print material.
  • World Religions Online  Icon
    A Facts on File database, covering major world religions and their practicioners.
  • Military and Intelligence Database  Icon
    Composed of content from over 400 journals, this collection covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and more.

English

  • Literature Criticism Online  Icon
    Available only with a New York Public Library card, this database provides range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres through a combined or individual search of a set of 10 literary series from Gale.
  • Literature Online  Icon
    Available only with a New York Public Library card, this is a searchable library of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus supporting reference and secondary materials.
  • Fiction Connection  Icon
    A "what to read next" service from Books in Print, available to New York Public Library card holders.
 

What is a database, and how do I use them?

Databases are organized, searchable sources of information, often available only with a subscription (which means you will need passwords for remote access, although not if you are doing your research in school). Beyond that, a database can be anything: images, videos, articles from magazines or videos, collections of tertiary (encyclopedia/reference style) information. This page includes all of our subscription databases as well as a few that are public (and look much like websites) or are available with your NYPL library card. If you are looking for more guidance, or need help navigating within any given database, please see Karyn or check to see if there is a Resource Guide for your particular class or subject.

General Resources

  • Academic OneFile  
      
      Icon
    This periodicals database has replaced Proquest Platinum!
  • CVoD: Classroom Video on Demand  
      
      Icon
    Streaming video resource designed to support the curriculum.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
    GVRL is a cross-searchable ebook collection of reference materials. Currently, we have approximately 10 titles in addition to the Twayne's Author Series listed separately.
  • General OneFile  
      
      Icon
    Like Academic OneFile, with a more generalist collection. Includes more pop culture topics.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
      Icon
    The go-to source for timely, topical information from a variety of perspectives. See Karyn for help.
  • Pew Research Center
    Data, data, data! Pew is one of the best sources for data about the world we live in today.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    A digital library, containing books, primary sources, and full text current and back issues of almost 2,000 journals.

Newspapers

Images and Video

  • CVoD: Classroom Video on Demand  
      
      Icon
    Streaming video resource designed to support the curriculum.
  • BrainPop  Icon
    Login required; if you need the login credentials please see your divisional librarian or integrator.

Middle and Lower School Databases

While these databases are primarily for LS and MS use, sometimes they may be useful starting points for more advanced research or overlap with the HS curriculum, especially for 9th grade.

Science

Language Resources

  • Encyclopedie Decouverte  Icon
    French language encyclopedia, published by World Book.
  • Estudiantil  Icon
    Basic Spanish encyclopedia, published by World Book.
  • La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre  
      
      Icon
    Spanish-language encyclopedia written from the Latin American perspective.
  • Le Monde  Icon
    Online version of the Paris, France newspaper.
  • Mango Languages  Icon
    Language learning software through the New York Public Library. You must have a library card for access and you will need to create a log in. Includes French, Spanish, Mandarin and many other languages.

Arts

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip